Team India Earns Win Over Rival Pakistan Amid Dispute, Uncertainty - and Flying Pest Invasion
Pakistan Expresses Displeasure When Match Official Debatably Alters Dismissal Ruling
ICC Women's World Cup, Colombo
India 247 (Complete innings): Deol 46 (65-ball innings); Baig 4-69
Pakistan 159 (Forty-three overs): Sidra Amin 81 (106 deliveries); Goud's 3 wickets for 20
Team India secured victory by 88-run margin
Team India preserved their flawless opening during the championship with a comfortable eighty-eight run triumph against arch-rivals Pakistan in Colombo.
Harleen Deol was the highest scorer with 46 as Richa Ghosh hammered 35 not out in 20-ball innings late on to propel the Indian score to 247 in an innings that featured several hitters make starts without converting.
Pacer Diana Baig claimed 4/69 as the Pakistani attack bowled out the Indian team initially in women's one-day international off the final delivery of the batting effort yet an initial triumph still eludes them.
After slipping to 26/3 in the chase, Pakistan momentarily fought back as Sidra Amin - who proceeded to score 81 in 105-ball innings after being dropped three times - and Natalia Pervaiz together compiled 69 during their fourth-wicket stand.
But India, spearheaded by Goud's three for twenty, maintained their focus to dismiss Pakistan scoring 159 by the 43rd over and move top of the tournament table.
As commonly occurs when these rivals face each other, however, there developed considerably more to the match, with controversy and confusion sprinkled during the encounter...
Run-out Debate
Probably the most significant conversation topic emerged from a situation during the early stages of Pakistan's innings as opening batter Ali was controversially run out.
The southpaw got hit on the protective padding from Goud when the India bowler made an unsuccessful appeal for lbw, Deepti picked up the free ball and launched at the bails.
She struck but replays showed Muneeba had grounded her bat before the ball came into view and a 'not out' decision from the third umpire Klaaste was displayed on the giant display at the stadium.
However, prior to play resuming, the ruling was reviewed again and it became apparent that while the ball struck the wickets and knocked off the bails, Muneeba had lifted her equipment and remained standing away from her ground.
Although the player had previously placed her equipment and didn't endeavor to take a quick run, the third umpire changed her decision to 'dismissed' and regardless of Pakistan's complaints, which involved captain Fatima Sana tell her batter to remain on the field for a short time, Muneeba was compelled to depart.
With an additional complication, if India had merely challenged the LBW appeal, the complete debate would have been avoided since ball-tracking indicated Muneeba was clearly out LBW.
What do the rules of cricket state?
30.1 When out of his/her ground
Section 30.1.1 A hitter shall be regarded to be out of his/her ground unless some part of the player or equipment is grounded behind the popping crease at that wicket.
Rule 30.1.2 Nevertheless, a player shall not be deemed as having left their crease when, during running or diving towards his/her ground and further, and after placing a portion of the player or equipment over the line, there follows loss of touch between the surface and any portion of their body or bat, or between willow and batter.
'Tails becomes heads call'
Uncertainty when Pakistan incorrectly awarded flip against India
It should have been apparent that events would not become straightforward in this game right from the toss.
Amid a context of governmental disputes among the two nations, that captains Sana and Harmanpreet Kaur avoided handshakes was expected - particularly considering the previous instances in recent games involving the male teams.
However, none could have anticipated that Sana would announce mistakenly but win the toss.
The Pakistan skipper announced "tails" as the Indian captain spun the coin yet umpire Fritz misunderstood and announced "heads is the call".
Broadcaster and former Australia batter Jones was managing the toss and repeated the referee's statement, the coin landed on heads and the announcement came that Pakistan had won the toss.
Neither captain questioned it so Sana was able to come forward and affirm that Pakistan would field first.
A harmless blunder and considering India's victory anyway, no damage caused.
Insects halt match
'Who you gonna call?' - 'Insect expert' appears when insects halt game
During {the toss confusion|the coin flip confusion|the toss